Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Noob - introduction

+4
getascripter
Bushed-Tracker
sandy2010
Uncle Duck
8 posters

Go down

Noob - introduction Empty Noob - introduction

Post  Uncle Duck Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:06 am

Hi All,

I have spent some time reading the great forum you have here and have been very impressed.I decided it was time to stop lurking and sign up :-) I would have signed up sooner but dont really feel I have much to contribute at this stage of being a complete noob.

Thus far my experience is limited to 1 day away in the Newstead area with my father staying at a mates place. We hired a couple of detectors from Maryborough and had a go. We found heaps of shell casings, bullet fragments, cans etc and my father found one nugget that when weighed at the hire place the valed at $900 give or take.

Although I did not find any gold I had a great day, and I was pleased with my effotrs and gaining some kind of confidence - I was able to detect and find a miniture mechano screw which is quite small! We have another weekend planned for in a moth or so.

For a while I will continue to hire until I am sure it is a hobby I will continue with then I will purchase one for myself.

I look forward to becoming an active part ofthis onlne community.

Cheers
Uncle Duck

Uncle Duck
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2012-09-02

Back to top Go down

Noob - introduction Empty Noob introduction.

Post  sandy2010 Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:50 am

Welcome to the "Brotherhood".
I don't know how much you anticipate spending on hiring,but I would consider buying a Minelab SD2100(NOT MODIFIED) with 11" mono coil and 11" DD coil............you should be able to pick one up for $1500.00......I suggest approaching your nearest detector club so can "eyeball" the seller and get the full history of the unit.