Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Which detector is second best?

5 posters

Go down

Which detector is second best? Empty Which detector is second best?

Post  fortunehunter Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:11 pm

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, however not new to the world of detecting having spent a fair bit of time using my Etrac to find lots of coins and rings at various locations. But now I'm interested in getting into gold prospecting so looking to purchase a purpose built gold detector as the Etrac is just not sensitive enough to find the small nuggets although it is great on the coins.

Ok, I have used both the GPX5000 & 4500 on a weekend trip to the Victorian goldfields and found out firsthand how sensitive they are at finding those tiny nuggets, problem is I just didn't feel comfortable using either machine all day long. I just found the GPX's too heavy on the arm even when wearing a bungy cord and I didn't like harness or the battery hanging off me. Maybe I'm being a bit fussy but after using the Etrac for so long the GPX's seemed like dinosaurs from the 70's. Also with a price tag of about $6000 I'm not sure I want to spend that sought of money just yet until I'm sure I really enjoy searching for gold.

So my question is: If we assume that the GPX's are the best detectors for finding gold then what is second best?

This may seem like a strange place to ask such a question but I figure many of you on this forum will have upgraded to the GPX5000 from some other detector so you are probably well placed to comment on how the other brands of detectors stack up against the GPX's.

Three detectors I'm looking at are: Garret AT GOLD (Yes, I do realize an Aussie modified version has just been released)
Fisher Gold Bug Pro
Whites TDI Pro