Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

SD Series Vs Gold Bug Performance in Ironstone areas

5 posters

Go down

SD Series Vs Gold Bug Performance in Ironstone areas Empty SD Series Vs Gold Bug Performance in Ironstone areas

Post  Brendann Sat May 28, 2011 10:11 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am new to metal detecting and have just bought a gold bug 1 with a 6 and 10 inch coil. On a recent prospecting trip I came across several targets in the bush that I believed to be really good signals. Unfortunately they all turned out to be hot rock (ironstone) I decided to do a little testing and placed a very small piece of lead (used as a substitute for gold) in the ground and could hear the difference between my little ironstone rock and the small piece of lead. The lead having the sharper sound. The test was done in close proximity to the surface. My concern is that for a deeper target I may not be able to distinguish the difference between gold or ironstone (or perhaps I just need to tune my machine better?) I am well prepared to dig lots of false targets but I guess I'd rather use my time more effectively if possible?

My question - I have been reading all of the posts in the forum about PI detectors with interest and am considering first starting with a SD2000 or similar to build on my skill. If I was to purchase such a machine would I have the same problem to some extent as described above?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

thanks
Brendan.

Brendann
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2011-05-28

Back to top Go down

SD Series Vs Gold Bug Performance in Ironstone areas Empty Re: SD Series Vs Gold Bug Performance in Ironstone areas

Post  Rwork Sat May 28, 2011 11:00 pm