Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Got the Fever, Only One Cure!

3 posters

Go down

Got the Fever, Only One Cure! Empty Got the Fever, Only One Cure!

Post  splinterdog Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:09 pm

Good evening folks. I am relatively new to detecting and this is my first time on the forum. I am fortunate enough to have a friend with a trusty 4500. He introduced me to detecting about half a dozen times last year, with moderate success, and even donated a couple of small nuggets to me for my efforts on the pick! This had the desired effect and the fever took hold. I read the posts on this site with interest and did a bit of study on the subject. After a great deal of soul searching, and encouragement from 'she who must be obeyed', I lashed out in the 1st week of February and took possession of a brand new GPX5000. Some blokes spend 1000's on golf clubs so they can wander around hitting a ball with a stick, thereby ruining said walk. Other blokes spend tens of 1000's on a boat, to head out a couple of times a year, then throw up in rough weather for a kilogram of flathead. I like the bush. and was brought up in the bush. I have 2 great, great grandfathers who were ex-convicts who found themselves digging for gold in Carngham, Ballarat and Bendigo in the 1850's. One was successful, one was not. One beat a charge of murdering his wife on the goldfields but died a rich and successful miner well into his 90's. The other received 36 lashes at Port Arthur before being granted his ticket of leave and shooting through to Bendigo in 1855. Locked up numerous times for drinking and fighting, never had 2 bob to his name and died in a lunatic asylum in the 1870's. Which side of the family will I take after? All I can say about that is that my wife is safe!!. Anyway, after the 3 hour one on one instruction on the use of the 5000 which was invaluable seeing that I had never used one be