Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First detector purchase - AT Gold? - And where from?

2 posters

Go down

First detector purchase - AT Gold? - And where from? Empty First detector purchase - AT Gold? - And where from?

Post  pezcat19 Sun May 19, 2013 10:35 pm

Hi all!

I am new to detecting, I live in VIC and I was about to purchase a sub $300 MD along the lines of a Gold Snoop Pro, Fisher F2, etc... I spend a bit of time in the goldfield areas anyway, so this is a bit of fun added to that!

After a bit of research I quickly worked out that I would need to go a bit better than the sub $300 range if I was to have any real success looking for Gold in Vic. Based on this, and looking at my budget I "think" that an AT Gold would be a good choice. I want to look for gold, coins and relics, and will not be using it on the beach. Working in riverbeds would be attractive too, and the AT Gold covers this (waterproof)!

If the AT Gold is the weapon of choice, I have a couple of questions:

1 - Where / who is the best to purchase one from? I have seen a combo called the "adventure pack" which includes the bag and coil cover and a few other bits that I will find handy. I want to support the Australian suppliers, however the listed prices on their websites appear to be a good $200+ more for the same item from O/S sellers (including shipping!)! That's the equivalent of a sniper coil and some other bits right there! This makes it harder, and so I hope that with the right contacts and/or advice I can purchase from an Aussie business without being ripped off paying too much!?

2 - I imagine (from the crap PR job that Garrett seem to have done) that the AT Gold that is sold in Australia is now the exact same item as sold in other countries?