Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sofala/Turondale/Hill End Fossicking Trip

+3
lbg dreamer
getascripter
ForeverThreeWheels
7 posters

Go down

Sofala/Turondale/Hill End Fossicking Trip Empty Sofala/Turondale/Hill End Fossicking Trip

Post  ForeverThreeWheels Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:19 am

Hi everyone,
Ive been browsing this forum for a few months now so i thought i would join up here and post about my recent first real trip and attempt at finding gold, as ive found a lot of information on this forum i thought i would join and maybe give something back.

I hope ive posted in the correct section as i thought this thread would be most appropriate in here.

My names Ben, im 32 and from the Newcastle/Maitland area. Im on a lot of motorbike forums where my name is ForeverThreeWheels and so to keep things easy for me ive used the same username here.

My interest in fossicking was first really sparked after watching the T.V series Gold Rush. My father (Eddy) has always had an interest in fossicking for minerals and metal detecting though and has had metal detectors for as long as i can remember.

After doing a little research on the net and watching a few YouTube vids, me and Dad (who took zero effort to convince to join me) decided to take a trip to Copeland as this was the closest gold area to us and was one that Dad had been to previously with a friend on a guided tour in previous years.

When we arrived at Copeland we met another fossicker by the name of Ray. He was a really cool down to earth guy who showed us how to pan, showed us his sluice box as we'd never seen one and gave us some pointers on finding Gold.

Ray and Myself holding Ray's Gold

Sofala/Turondale/Hill End Fossicking Trip DSCF3241

We didnt find any gold that day although Ray did but we had a blast and fun learning from an experienced fossicker.