Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

5000 Depth question.

+2
Ian226
Alexfromdarwin
6 posters

Go down

5000 Depth question. Empty 5000 Depth question.

Post  Alexfromdarwin Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:34 pm

Im just starting out detecting and have been reading and learning alot in forums. And the other day i read a few recommended setting that some members use for the 11 mono coil and the large nugget stalker coils (I think thats what there called, its made by coilteck), off the top of my head the one we have in 22inch or 24inch x 12 or 14inch elliptical.

So the other day i went out for a hunt with these setting on paper and tried both coils on the setting i had, as i still learning i could balance the coils (basic), and found a few bits of junk, old nails and specks of rust. while i was out i wanted to see how far away the detector would pick up the signals. I found that when i put the target on the surface of the ground and tryed to see how far away in the air the detector would pick it up from with the 11inch mono coil it would work from about a foot max, and with the large coilteck nugget stalker it would only get the signal withing a few inches.

My question is that with the 5000, i read on all these sites that guys are digging holes 2 foot deep and getting 1gram nuggets, yet my 5000 was struggling to pick up a pretty large rust flake on the surface of the ground let alone in the ground.

Is this to do with gold being obviously alot denser thus the detector will get the smaller targets of gold deeper, rather then smaller target of rust deeper. (i think thats a pretty basic question but just double checking)

just want to double check because surely the large coilteck which performed pretty bald would work better then it did for me, as i have read a fair bit about them and everyone rates them.