Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to this great hobbie

+2
AnnieL
rob101579
6 posters

Go down

New to this great hobbie Empty New to this great hobbie

Post  rob101579 Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:41 pm

Hi Guys and Girls

Thankyou for taking the time to read this if you do.

I'm new to prospecting and not for financial gain but as something to take me away from the hussle of the city and work.

Is there any tips from anyone what i should be looking to purchase to start my exploration. I've seen a few methods of panning and also gold detectors, which is more rewarding and enjoyable?

Any advice would be great!!!

Cheers Rob

rob101579
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2012-06-12

Back to top Go down

New to this great hobbie Empty New To This Great Hobbie

Post  AnnieL Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:39 pm

Welcome Rob. I personally like detecting for gold but I have given panning a go from time to time. Have a read of the topic Newbie Q & A in the general forum for some question and answers. Obviously the cost to get into panning is a lot cheaper than some of the more expensive metal detectors but I agree getting out there is often the best part of the hobby.

No doubt others on the forum will fill you in more.

Annie
AnnieL
AnnieL
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 1084
Registration date : 2012-05-07

Back to top Go down

New to this great hobbie Empty Re: New to this great hobbie

Post  getascripter Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:17 pm

G'day Rob & Welcome!

Llike you I'm in it for the 'R&R' reasons ... once a month I take a few days away from the office and just disappear into the bush!

Ahhhhh .... slowly sanity returns ..... but then I'm silly enough to go back to the office Sad

Annie's advice is perfect ... spend some time going through the forum & you will be amazed at the wealth of information contained within. In the meantime ... G'day!