Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

GPX4000/4500 - Smooth timings reduce depth

3 posters

Go down

GPX4000/4500 - Smooth timings reduce depth Empty GPX4000/4500 - Smooth timings reduce depth

Post  Guest Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:38 am

Hi all,

Over the past few months I have noticed that the 'Gold Gods' have frowned upon me when using smooth timings on my GPX4000 to the extent that I rarely use this function now. Being a mono person and love running a quite machine I continually used this setting contented with the fact that my machine was running quite.

Now I dont make any statements about experience as I am still learning, but after having a 2200, 3000 and now a 4000 I did love the way the 4k ran quite and smooth when using a mono coil. I recently noticed a decline in my fair share being handed out from the Gold Gods and after talking with others I have come to the conclusion that there is about a 30% performance loss in depth when running in smooth timings on the 4k.

Over Easter I did some crude testing to see if this was so and found that I was losing about 3 1/2 - 4 inches in depth on a 40 grain .22 projectile (16inch N/F mono) and about 9 - 10 inches in depth on a 500 grain old timer .65 projectile (25inch N/F coil). This loss was the difference between running smooth timings to normal timings with everything else being equal. Now I am not knocking the machine as it performs very well for me and I do find gold however I think I may have slipped into a false sense of security when in smooth timings and using it all the time. Due to the high mineralisation here it is very tempting to run those timings all the time.