Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Brisbane Gold

+8
RussR
Axeman
picknshuffle
YibiDavid
cranky53
madmaverick
wahoo
maka
12 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Brisbane Gold Empty Brisbane Gold

Post  maka Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:13 pm

Hi, guys and gals. A newbie here.
I work on forestry roads throughout North Brisbane, Dayboro, Samford, Clear mountain, mount Mee, etc etc.
Recently i was working on maintaining a road, and an old fellow, with a detector, actually dug up the road we just rolled.( these are dirt roads)
He smiled, Said thanks, and stuck it in his pocket. And went on his merry way.
The next day i bailed him up, I have 2 very old minelabs for beach combing. ( I like old school retro detectors)Not sure if they would be any good for looking for nuggets.
So i was thinking about panning after the massive floods out that way. Some of the creeks have been scoured out many many metres.
Cut a long story short, Has anyone, found anything around. Dayboro, Laceys creek, camp Mountain etc.
I did read an article from 1938 about claims Near dayboro. I have asked locals whom i know well, and all say theres no gold in the hills there.
The guy who picked the nugget out of the road also said theres iron sand in the mountain, but its a fair walk.
The locals tell me there is no iron sand...
So basically i am asking if theres any like minded people whom live close and want to go for a look, I am happy to show you where the guy found his nugget, if you can show me some panning tips or techniques or how to tune my detectors better.

I would love to hear some stories about the area, from what i see online it wasnt a rich area, but i just want to get out of the house and have a go..
maka
maka
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 626
Registration date : 2011-06-28

Back to top Go down

Brisbane Gold Empty Brisbane gold

Post  wahoo Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:56 pm