Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New Member Steve H - Sluicing in Vic

3 posters

Go down

New Member Steve H - Sluicing in Vic Empty New Member Steve H - Sluicing in Vic

Post  Guest Wed May 18, 2011 8:28 am

Steve H Yesterday at 9:20 pm
Hello
I am new to this hobby and have never been gold prospecting before. However I have always wanted to have a go.
I have a number of questions and if anyone could help me out that would be great.
I live in Hoppers Crossing, west of Melbourne.
I have made my own gold sluice. Is it best to run the sluice with a pump or to use the sluice in the creek as I have seen on utube people placing the sluice in the creek? Do I need to have a miners right to use my gold sluice?
Could anyone suggest somewhere I could go to give the sluice a go. I have read that Reedy Creek at Eldorado is a good place?
If it would help I could post a photo of my sluice regarding whether I should have a pump hooked up to it or not.
Any info and help would be great as I am looking forward to having a go.

Cheers,

Steve

Steve H welcome to the best and most informative Australian gold prospecting group on the web. Mate it would be very wrong of me to tell you in which direction you must go without knowing at which skill level you are at. Yes if you can post a photo of your equipment that would be of help. But what I can give you is guidance and it is this guidance that will put you on the right track I hope.

Your very first step and the most important one in prospecting. It dose not matter weather you River sluice, High-Bank, or Detect the need to be able to use a gold pan is paramount and this must be given your highest level of attention. How many times have I seem people who spend all day working but cant finish off washing the concentrate at days end.