Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

False Signals

3 posters

Go down

False Signals Empty False Signals

Post  Dunks50 Wed May 19, 2021 11:01 am

Hi, I recently bought a GPX 4500 after owning a SDC 2300 for approx 16 months with reasonable success. I've taken the 4500 out about 10x with couple of different sized coils and only found larger pellets, rusted bolts, nails etc. I've watched and read plenty on the settings and have it running smoothly but it not neccessarily may be optimal, as I'm still learning it and it's a big leap from the 2300. I have found that Im continually digging what sound like good legitimate targets but prove to be nothing, and I'm ground balancing continuously away from the signals. I can only assume they are hot rocks. I've also not dug these signals at times and ran the 2300 over the spots with no return whatsoever. Its confusing and frustrating and as a result am yet to trust the GPX. This is not ideal obviously because I understand it has excellent capabilities. I continue to find very small gold with 2300 and run the GPX in the same areas with no success. Im led to believe that if theres only sub .08gm gold out there the GPX may not pick it up. I just think I'm doing something fundamentally wrong and until I find gold with it I'll still have doubts when using it.

Dunks50
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 19
Registration date : 2020-06-22

Back to top Go down

False Signals Empty Re: False Signals

Post  Guest Wed May 19, 2021 12:28 pm

G’day Dunks50,