Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Noisy EMI with GPX 5000

4 posters

Go down

Noisy EMI with GPX 5000 Empty Noisy EMI with GPX 5000

Post  hugh62 Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:16 pm

G'day everyone 1st post so i'll see how i go , i'm a plant operator on a cattle station near MT ISA and started detecting when i bought my 1st detector  a 3500 not long after they came out ,then a xterra 70 and now the 5000 . And yes i have the dreaded GOLD FEVER !! Hopefully planning to prospect full time in the not to distant future !! Love the 5000 as most of my time has been spent in the NW QLD and central NT , where me and the 3500                 ( unmodified ) really struggled with the heavy minerilisation in certain areas . How ever i do find one flaw in particular with the 5000 and that when the temperture gets over 38-40 deg it's EMI gets a bit noisy ,in particular in the hills /ranges , where the minerilisation is very mild ,sandstone shale and by the shafts in the area is up to 40' deep ,no Ironstone, very little surface Quartz ,Schist etc,and no power lines etc . Manuel tunning doesn't seem to help much , nor using a mono or dd coil ,control box has cover on it . Useing a 6'' coil on FP runs brilliantly , 11'' coil starts to get a bit noisy noisy under those extreme temps . However a few weeks ago after some good rain ,i went back out into those hills while  it was still wet ,and the temperature was mild  28-30 etc , the detector worked beatifully, even using a 18/12 mono my favourite coil !! Out of the hills and on the slopes and flats even under extreme temperatures  and heavy minerilisation i can get the detector to run smoothly  even with a 18/12 coil mono but on FP only !! I've noticed on this forum and others that this is a bit of a problem with the 5000 ( temperature wise ) I might add i do really love to run a smooth threeshhold if possible , as this is what i really love ab