Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

GROUND BALANCE

2 posters

Go down

GROUND BALANCE Empty GROUND BALANCE

Post  gktint Sun Dec 29, 2013 8:41 pm

Hi guys im new to detecting have an SD2200v2 and haven't found any gold yet lol plenty of rusty crap being found. Just wanted an explanation of what ground balancing is, mine has tracking so its doing it automaticly. and i have read how to do it in fixed mode but i don yet understand why it needs to be done. I know what it sounds like when its not balanced in fixed mode. a better understanding of what im doing would be great. Also my machine came with a rooster booster and external speaker, do i turn the threshold up to max then adjust the volumn on the booster untill im comfortable with it ??

gktint
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2013-12-09

Back to top Go down

GROUND BALANCE Empty Re: GROUND BALANCE

Post  goldenhero Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:59 pm

Hi gktint , welcome to the forum , all detecters need to be ground balanced ( if you have the manual for that detecter is should explain how to do this ) . What ground balancing does is neutralise in effect the particular type of ground you are detecting otherwise the detecter could not distinguish between the mineralised ground and metallic targets . Most detecting would be done in fixed mode , also ground balance often especially if ground type changes .. cheers Mick

goldenhero
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 532
Registration date : 2012-12-19

Back to top Go down

GROUND BALANCE Empty Re: GROUND BALANCE

Post  Guest Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:20 pm

G'day gktint and welcome to the forum

Like goldenhero says you need to ground balance to get rid of the ground noise so you can hear the target signal and it's not being lost in amongst all the other noise.