Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Normal Timings & GPX4500

+2
MS
AuTitch
6 posters

Go down

Normal Timings & GPX4500 Empty Normal Timings & GPX4500

Post  AuTitch Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:21 am

What are people’s experiences using Normal Timings on a 4500 using monos . I’m relatively new to detecting and I’ve been doing a little experimenting with Normal Timings and found that although there appears to be quite a bit more depth compared to Enhanced Timings there are a lot of ground noise type signals. The signal generated while using Normal Timings appear more pronounced compared to the signals while using Enhanced Timings for the same depth target which is beneficial however the constant false signals is a drawback . Are there any settings or tuning so to reduce ground noise signals or work arounds so to enable the use of Normal Timings. Feedback and input welcome.

Adrian AKA AuTitch

AuTitch
Contributor
Contributor

Number of posts : 28
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Back to top Go down

Normal Timings & GPX4500 Empty Re: Normal Timings & GPX4500

Post  MS Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:08 pm

Hi Adrian
I can't help you out here as I don't have a 4500 but I would have thought there would be a few standard settings people use that cover most situations and ground types.
Surely you don't have to scroll through hundreds of settings to get the best out of these units.
That's why I like the GP series, easy to use with just a few settings, wonder what others are doing with this model.
Mark
MS
MS
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 791
Registration date : 2009-03-17

Back to top Go down

Post  Jonathan Porter Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:20 pm