Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wanted - A basic Detector

2 posters

Go down

Wanted - A basic Detector Empty Wanted - A basic Detector

Post  Suncoastscott Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:01 pm

Hi everyone,

I am a very newbie to metal detecting. I did a little bit about 20 years ago- I found a lot of ring pulls from soft drink cans.

Anyway I am looking at getting a very basic detector. Funds are really tight (in fact I am selling a couple of things to be able to purchase one). Unfortunately I have had a couple of bad experiences to start with. Firstly I did what everyone tells you to do- I spoke to an 'expert'. As I am on the Sunshine Coast, & there is no sellers here, I called the closest metal detector shop. I told them my situation- but stepping back it took me 2-3 weeks to get a reply from them- I left messages & emailed but no reply. Anyway their advice- buy a Minelab GPX 5000 @ $6500+. I was told if I am going to learn I had to learn with the best machine available. I reminded him of what we had just spoken about with my budget & his reply was to go away & save for it & come back when I have money to spend. Needless to say when I do have that kind of money to spend I will not be going there.

Then there was an advertisement on gumtree- someone had a 2nd hand bounty hunter tracker iv that they wanted to swap for something useful. Anyway a few months ago I won a lucky door prize; a collectible $400 bottle of great grandfather limited edition Penfold's port so I offered this & a bottle of Bundy rum someone gave me for my birthday (they didn't realise I can't stand rum). He was happy I was happy- I drove to Brisbane to meet at the designated time/place- after an hour of waiting & many phone calls I realised he wasn't showing. I emailed him when I got home & the reply was that he changed his mind- nice of him to tell me. I lost interest for awhile after that.