Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Best Coil For Flogged Desert Areas Hunting Deep Large Nuggets

2 posters

Go down

Best Coil For Flogged Desert Areas Hunting Deep Large Nuggets Empty Best Coil For Flogged Desert Areas Hunting Deep Large Nuggets

Post  gold bug sniper Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:54 am

I am just getting started detecting with my gpx4000, and starting to get a handle on it with smaller coils, I am amazed at the sensitivity and depth of this machine, and the settings available for different situations, I was a previous VLF only user, I am now a convert to minelab gpx detectors,  one of the main areas I go to to detect was flogged in the late 90's to early 2000's for a lot of nuggets and quite a few multi oz nuggets were found by some people I know, so I know there is still more there, just deep, out of reach of normal coils, I am contemplating purchasing a Coiltek 24x14 EM coil for these deep overlooked nuggets, and I hear this particular coil will also not ignore smaller gram size stuff toward the surface which would be a plus, what are your thoughts? I have a 8" commander mono, a 15x12 commander mono, and a goldstalker coiltek 18" round mono coil, will the 24x14 em exceed the 18" goldstalker in performance and be a worthwhile buy? If not should I buy a larger round mono like a 25" mono?  I know once a hole is started an elliptical will be easier to pinpoint with as tip is narrower, the area is desert ground with the usual bushes and open areas, mild to moderate mineralization mostly, overburden is from 6" to 2 ft or more in some locations. I am trying to up my odds of finding nuggets overlooked by the masses in yrs past in this area. Any thoughts?
gold bug sniper
gold bug sniper
Good Contributor
Good Contributor

Number of posts : 132
Registration date : 2012-04-01

Back to top Go down