Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What can i do with this nugget- acid?

4 posters

Go down

What can i do with this nugget- acid? Empty What can i do with this nugget- acid?

Post  sir-dig-alot Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:50 pm

Hey gold explorers,

Ive been detecting a few times now around NSW and came across this speciman
its very heavy and has veins all over i have been doing reaserch about acids
crushing etc but unsure witch way to go - i dont want to stuff it up considering im only new at prospecting
any pointers will be much apreciated

[img]What can i do with this nugget- acid? P1050465[/img]

sir-dig-alot
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2012-08-12

Back to top Go down

What can i do with this nugget- acid? Empty Re: What can i do with this nugget- acid?

Post  Guest Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:55 pm

G'day mate and welcome to the forum and congratulations on your terrific find.
Being a rock of that size I would crush it and then pan it off and melt all that down.
Good luck,
Uncle Bob.

Back to top Go down

What can i do with this nugget- acid? Empty Re: What can i do with this nugget- acid?

Post  sir-dig-alot Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:31 pm

Cheers Uncle bob - hey i have one of them,

can acids dissolve rock to leave a nice shape to it .
That you are aware of? Its VERY heavy and i am reluctant on hammering it beyond recognition might be better to leave as a sample, would you crush? or be happier as is

sir-dig-alot
New Poster
New Poster

Back to top Go down

Post  Gold Miner Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:38 pm

Do a search of the forum, I think started by Gus?
the heat shock treatment will fix it for ya!
Gold Miner
Gold Miner
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 648
Registration date : 2012-09-28

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:59 pm

At the end of the day, it's your decision on what you want to do with it.