Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

do I need a “licence” in all states to detect?

2 posters

Go down

do I need a “licence” in all states to detect? Empty do I need a “licence” in all states to detect?

Post  Guest Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:14 pm

Hello
Firstly as a new member of the forum , can I say thanks to all those that offer ideas
and answers to all the varying questions. As I’m a novice, the information is great.
My question is simply, do I need a “licence” in all states to detect?
I have just used up my Queensland licence time but as we are travelling south into NSW,
then Victoria, who do I contact? I think I heard that as I am a pensioner, I do not need a
fossicking licence in NSW.
Also what’s the situation with detecting in National or State forests?

Thanks
John

Smile

Back to top Go down

do I need a “licence” in all states to detect? Empty Re: do I need a “licence” in all states to detect?

Post  nero_design Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:22 pm

Hi John.

NSW
The Fossicking license was abolished in 1994(?) here in NSW.

You don't need to get one here unless you wish to Fossick in State Forests.
They have had their own system in place for the last 40 years and the fee is $11 per year.
You can contact the Department and they'll take down your particulars (including the name of the State Forest/s you wish to Fossick on) and they'll do it over the phone for you. They list the State Forests you want to access on your printed permit.
Crown Land is allowed and so is Fossicking on Private Property as long as verbal or written permission is sought. An exception to the rule is the Town of Hill End which is under a Protection Act (even though it's on Crown Land). You can't dig on the township itself but you can "go to town" anywhere outside the town limits as long as it's not on private property.