Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Exploration License, Tenement searching...

3 posters

Go down

Exploration License, Tenement searching... Empty Exploration License, Tenement searching...

Post  Commander_Krill Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:27 pm

Hi all

I'm new to prospection and rock hounding and trying to do as much research as possible so I don't wonder around too much.

I would love a simple map with a big X on it, but that would be too simple.
Im slowly piecing together Victorian Mining maps and trying to use some government websites to add more data and details into where mines are, were and who may or may not own them.

(1 example of a site I found for tenements)
energyandresources.vic.gov.au/earth-resources/maps-reports-and-data/mining-licences-near-me

Searching here I find there are quite a few EL's (Exploration License's) they even give info on the company, now some of these areas cover whole towns like Beechworth.

EL5418 - The licence holder can explore for minerals in the licence area
MIN5428 - The licence holder has the rights to any mineral resource in the licence area, but cannot commence mining until a work plan is developed and approved.

I guess the mine was approved as the images show a large pit.
This site gives very basic info

As a simple prospector, can I prospect on someone elses EL area?

I know of Geovic and until I get a handle on it, is very confusing to try and learn who may or may not own or has the right to prospect/mine.
Is this a site I should try to learn better to use?

How do I search or find the following and preferable with Google Earth Overlays.
Old mines
Previous/Current Owners
Land type, eg Crown land, non prospecting, restricted, puclic

I hope Im not asking to much, there are links on this site(golddetecting.forumotion.net) that are years old and don't work for Map overlays by Detrackozi.

Grant

Commander_Krill
New Poster