Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

detecting in national parks & state forrests

3 posters

Go down

detecting in national parks & state forrests Empty detecting in national parks & state forrests

Post  jacktar Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:17 pm

Hi all, I have been researching old gold mine sites to investigate, as a beginner I have noticed that an awful lot of the old diggings are found in these parks and forrest areas. Does this preclude one from searching here, as mines dept rules imply (to ring them takes forever)that it is not permitted, and you should use designated areas or obtain permission to use private property? Am I accurate.

Mark M cheers
jacktar
jacktar
Contributor
Contributor

Number of posts : 29
Registration date : 2010-08-03

http://www.benhallaustralianbushranger.com/

Back to top Go down

detecting in national parks & state forrests Empty Re: detecting in national parks & state forrests

Post  chopppacalamari Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:40 pm

That's right mate,

National parks are out of bounds for detecting or fossicking. There's a total flora and fauna protection which precludes us digging holes.

State parks are another story. In NSW we are allowed providing we obtain a permit. Remember shooters can get permits to shoot in state parks now too so the permit system more or less guarantees that you and the shooters will not be at the same place on the same day. State Recreational area's such as at burrendong dam and wyangla dam are allowed with no permit.. However the only detectable gold at Wyangla dam (that I've heard about) has been up the back end and not in the state rec area anyway.
chopppacalamari
chopppacalamari
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 660
Registration date : 2008-12-13

Back to top Go down

detecting in national parks & state forrests Empty Re: detecting in national parks & state forrests