Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Deep gold versus shallow gold

2 posters

Go down

Deep gold versus shallow gold Empty Deep gold versus shallow gold

Post  kevwr Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:28 pm

I have been detecting for about 12 months now and have had great success detecting sub gram nuggets in shallow ground. I often look further down the slope at the deeper ground but have no experience detecting there.

Can someone with deeper ground experience give me some tips on what to listen for... do deep targets sound similar to smaller shallow ones or are they more subtle? Do you need to swing very slow and really overlap your swings as the target area on the coil must be a lot smaller at depth. Any advice appreciated Smile

Also, how deep is deep.. realistically is it still worth swinging over ground more than 2 feet deep as all other than the biggest nuggets would be out of range.

Has anyone tried the deep setting on the GPZ?

kevwr
Contributor
Contributor

Number of posts : 21
Registration date : 2014-04-29

Back to top Go down

Deep gold versus shallow gold Empty Re: Deep gold versus shallow gold

Post  Canned Heat Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:59 pm