Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Question on carbon fibre shafts for gpx 5000

3 posters

Go down

Question on carbon fibre shafts for gpx 5000 Empty Question on carbon fibre shafts for gpx 5000

Post  aar Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:24 pm

Hello to all.
I've been detecting for a couple of years and as the topic suggests I have a question in relation to carbon fibre shafts for 5000's. I have the standard coils that came with the 5k and a couple of nugget finders ( 12 x 7 ellip. mono & 14 inch round mono ) both of which I am very happy with.
I am contemplating on the purchase of a NF 18'' round mono and after surfing the net some say that you should get either a carbon fibre or fibreglass shaft for your GPX or your large coil will get interference from the standard GPX shaft and reduce it effectiveness as a result.

Has anyone used or have a carbon fibre shaft or for that matter the otto ( now Sandy ) fibreglass version? Is it true that the larger coils do get interference from the standard GPX shaft?

Any thoughts / advice would be greatly appreciated as I do not want to invest in the wrong set up. Thanks.

aar
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 6
Registration date : 2013-07-28

Back to top Go down

Question on carbon fibre shafts for gpx 5000 Empty Re: Question on carbon fibre shafts for gpx 5000

Post  dryblower Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:20 pm

Hi arr
just seen no one has answered your question.
I have tried both fibreglass and carbon shafts on my GPX's and cant say I have noticed much difference to the standard alloy . I use up to a 24 x 12 NF. The issue with big coils is more with a potential loss of sesitivity because of the metal in the shaft, rather than any " interference"    One problem I had was tight lower stems in the id of the new glass and carbon shafts. Would pay to check your stems will fit before purchase !!
Cheers
DB

dryblower
Good Contributor