Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to prospecting with limited budget

3 posters

Go down

New to prospecting with limited budget Empty New to prospecting with limited budget

Post  akversamax Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:34 pm

Hello Everybody,
I am new to prospecting just got interested in gold over the past year. I have been trying to do lots of research on how to find gold. Haven't found anything yet but some very fine dust. Sad I am interested in getting a metal detector that is waterproof and am thinking about the Garrett AT Gold. 680 dollars is pretty expensive for me but I want something that is waterproof. affraid
The areas that I am trying to search is in a stream underwater about 3 to 4 feet. I have only been panning and I am interested in getting something that will help me move through more dirt like a sluice box but the stream has no place to put the sluice because there is a drop off of a foot from the bank to the water level. Is there anything else that I can use that won't bleed my wallet too much? confused
Thanks,
Chris

akversamax
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 9
Registration date : 2012-06-14

Back to top Go down

New to prospecting with limited budget Empty Re: New to prospecting with limited budget

Post  kon61 Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:00 am

G'day akversamax. Welcome to the Forum.

For $680 bucks you cant really go wrong with the Garret A/T Gold,with its standard dd 8x5 inch fully waterproof coil.It is one of the better VLFs out there on the market,which can handle mineralized ground conditions. The A/T Gold is also a very capable beach/coin detector.

Cheers kon61.
kon61
kon61
Management

Number of posts : 4993
Registration date : 2010-02-19

Back to top Go down

New to prospecting with limited budget Empty Re: New to prospecting with limited budget

Post  akversamax Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:19 am