Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Where to start. - What do you need?

4 posters

Go down

Where to start. - What do you need? Empty Where to start. - What do you need?

Post  100% Lambo Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:07 pm

A little over whelming. I have read so much about where someone who is quite keen gold detecting should start. My wife and I have extensive bush experience but no experience detecting and while our budget is not capped there in conflicting advice on what a beginner should purchase and how much they should spend. Additionally there is conflicting reports on which brand and/or model detector is best for gold prospecting with the trend being that when someone bags a machine it is simply that they have not learned to use it correctly. As I said it is a little over whelming but this site seems to be the most constructive regarding useful info so I'm all ears.

100% Lambo
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2012-02-23

Back to top Go down

Where to start. - What do you need? Empty Re: Where to start. - What do you need?

Post  kon61 Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:47 pm

G'day Lambo. Welcome to the Forum.

My advice to any newbie gold detectorist, "Try hiring one before buying one". Join a metal detecting/prospecting club or book yourselves in for a few days tuition with an experienced reputable or well known prospecting/detector hire group,where the tuition is normally one on one and see if this game suits you,before outlaying a whole lot of bucks only to give the game away in a very short time if you find that its not for you.The most user friendly,metal detector,currently available on the market,designed specifically for detecting gold nuggets on a variety of soil conditions,is the Minelab GPX 5000,followed by the GPX 4500.

Cheers kon61.

Last edited by kon61 on Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
kon61
kon61
Management