Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground

5 posters

Go down

how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground  Empty how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground

Post  goldquest Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:16 pm

Hi guys, I am new at this game, can anyone help me with this question: how do I know if the ground where I am detecting is deep or shallow?
Cheers
Goldquest
goldquest
goldquest
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 623
Registration date : 2011-04-27

Back to top Go down

how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground  Empty Re: how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground

Post  Guest Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:43 am

by reading up on that area before you go there --its all available --- what is the depth of the holes ? how much mullock is at the top of the hole? so its 90% research and 10% work Very Happy

Back to top Go down

how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground  Empty Re: how to recognize deep ground or shallow ground

Post  artrix Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:54 am

maybe this is part of his research......?
Have a look at any gullies and embankments they will usually give you an idea og the depth of soil over the rock base. You could also try to dig a few holes and see just how far down the rock base is.
Good luck with your research

artrix
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 442
Registration date : 2009-12-16

Back to top Go down

Post  goldquest Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:25 pm

Murachu wrote:by reading up on that area before you go there --its all available --- what is the depth of the holes ? how much mullock is at the top of the hole? so its 90% research and 10% work Very Happy

Thank you for your kind replay, when you say its all available, what do you mean, there are books or on line? Smile
Cheers
Goldquest
goldquest
goldquest
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Back to top Go down