Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2100 Thoughts Please Anyone?

+3
kon61
sandy2010
blackwhisky
7 posters

Go down

2100 Thoughts Please Anyone? Empty 2100 Thoughts Please Anyone?

Post  blackwhisky Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:46 pm

G'day I am new to the fine art of gold detecting and was just seeking a bit of advice due to the teething problems associated with my new hobby.
About 4 months ago I purchased a stock standard 6v second hand Sd 2100 from a reputable local dealer. I have been out prospecting with this machine a few times ( I have gold diggings in the bush opposite my house) and picked up plenty of junk lol. I have taken patience and time tuning the detector and think I do a reasonable job there.
After reading lots and lots of books, watching dvd's, reading this forum etc I decided to do some tests on my new machine to assess its capabilities as I realize that having confidence in your machine is a key factor for searching for gold.
I got 3 lead bullet slugs (I found no gold yet lol) and buried them at different depths. Each lead slug weighed 4 grams or close enough to 4 grams. The depths I placed them was 100mm, 250mm and 400mm.
The machine sounded off nicely @ 100mm ( I new it would as that was about the depth they were found originally, I did this as a gauge for the other 2)
I had no sound whatsoever @ 250mm
The faintest sound @ 400mm which would be extremely easy to miss with any ground noise I would never have dug on such a faint noise I only just picked the variation in sound because I knew where it was buried lol.

I used search mode and both channels individually for each test. Channel 2 was the only one that picked up a signal on 400mm. Standard 11" DD Coil.