Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Detecting with 4500

+4
GoldstalkerGPX
Frog
artrix
extreme
8 posters

Go down

Detecting with 4500 Empty Detecting with 4500

Post  extreme Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:59 pm

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie and have a 4500.

I went out fossicking today for the fourth time and have found numerous buttons, buckles, nails and bullets.

I have a test piece of gold, approx 3 grams.

My question is, should my test piece be the sound which I need to target to prevent me from wasting my time with constant rubbish or do I need to just dig everything?

Any tips would be most helpful for this frustrated newbie.

Thanks for your help...

Let me know if you want to catch up in the vic triangle...

extreme
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 12
Registration date : 2010-10-22

Back to top Go down

Detecting with 4500 Empty Re: Detecting with 4500

Post  artrix Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:23 pm

dig everything

artrix
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 442
Registration date : 2009-12-16

Back to top Go down

Post  Frog Tue Dec 28, 2010 9:10 pm

Hi Extreme i dig every thing two weeks a go i found two 1850's pennys,not gold but lots of fun.
I have left a target or two because i wasn't patient now i have to go back and recheck,do the job properly.Frog

Frog
Good Contributor
Good Contributor

Number of posts : 87
Registration date : 2010-10-29

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Tue Dec 28, 2010 9:19 pm

hey extreme, the thing you can do is dig a hole so deep and chuck your test gold down the hole and cover it back in, then just sit there waving the detector over the bit off gols and play with the settings until your happy with the out come. you should dig every target as some gold will sound a little different for others. you will get sick off digging every target and start leaving a few, but just think it could off been a bit off god....
cheers
stoppsy