Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lift the Bonnet

2 posters

Go down

Lift the Bonnet Empty Lift the Bonnet

Post  Guest Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:51 pm

The next day after traveling 400 Ks the kids wanted to go panning! So chuck the necessary bits in the back and off we go. 2 Ks down the road my 1990 mod 60 series land cruiser
stopped dead in it's tracks. Lift the bonnet had a quick looksee, Positive battery leadssssss not tight enough and burnt off one wire, no tools, hay I'm a mechanic, Pocket knife, cut off a piece of wire from the spotty's and re connected the burnt off lead. So where mobile again, did the day's panning, kids where happy, the cruiser not so happy?
Blown charge light relay $130.00 blown regulator unknown$ as yet genuine only$$ positive wires running through the dash which should be negative.
A total nightmare because of a loose battery connection.
Not so cheers~Chris. Sad Sad

Back to top Go down

Lift the Bonnet Empty Re: Lift the Bonnet

Post  GoldstalkerGPX Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:39 pm

Last edited by GoldstalkerGPX on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:22 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : pointless)
GoldstalkerGPX
GoldstalkerGPX
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 1732
Registration date : 2009-07-27

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:58 pm

Thanks Adrian, an effort it will be. as for terminals, they where new 8 months ago? I noticed the starter lead swinging in the breeze, so 8 months of 4X4ing I'd say that was the culprit? Finding a book with the right color codes is proving to be another nightmare! It appears my 1990 mod is a swing to the next mod? color codes are out the window.
So frustrating over something that shouldn't be!
Cheers Sad Sad Chris. Sad Sad

Back to top Go down

Post  GoldstalkerGPX Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:04 pm