Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Weapon of choice

3 posters

Go down

Weapon of choice Empty Weapon of choice

Post  xenon Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:55 pm

Hello all,

Well, I am going to bite the bullet and buy myself a GPX5000 on monday ready for my weeks prospecting trip late April. Hopefully I will be able to get a basic understanding of how this machine works and handles before I head off. I believe the settings take some getting used to but, thanks to this forum I have printed off some of the "suggested settings" posted by other members on another link in this forum.
I bought a 15x12 mono llast month when Minelab were running their special deal and am considering purchasing an 8in mono too.
Any suggestions by other members would be very much appreciated as I am new to gold prospecting.
I have done a little beach detecting here with an ebay special ( treasure snoop - should of saved my money), and a bit of coin and relic hunting in the UK with Fishers, but new to Minelab detectors (as it seems the GPX5000 is the best on the market at present).
Would also like to thank everyone on this forum for all the great and helpful contributions that I have read here.

I
xenon
xenon
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 375
Registration date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Weapon of choice Empty Re: Weapon of choice

Post  Universal1 Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:17 pm

Hi Xenon,

You've come to the right place as there are plenty of knowledgeable and friendly people on this forum that will happily offer you advice.

A good starting point would be to practise with the standard 11" mono (read the manual as well) that comes with the 5000 trying out the different settings until you have a good understanding of the machine and are comfortable with it, use test targets and don't be afraid to experiment.

It's a great machine!

Phil.
Universal1
Universal1
Good Contributor