Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Can Minelab Fix The GPZ 7000?

+2
goldstrijk
kevlorraine2
6 posters

Go down

Can Minelab Fix The GPZ 7000? Empty Can Minelab Fix The GPZ 7000?

Post  1anSDC Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:33 am

Can Minelab fix the GPZ 7000 and why should they?

The short answer is, of-course they can, but the most relevant question is, when and how will they do it?

I have worked alongside physicists and electronic engineers, assembling, calibrating and fault finding instruments that use gamma and microwave techniques to analyse mineral composition. These instruments were designed and developed in house and had 6 and 7 digit price tags. I have some knowledge of product development and the obstacles that may need to be overcome.

I have a SDC2300 and was about to buy a GPZ7000 when I started reading on forums like this conflicting reports about the products performance and reliability. As $10,700.00 is a considerable sum of money I decided to wait a while to see if a firmware upgrade would be made available that would fix the ground balance issues being reported. Nothing has come forward to date, so I got the GPX5000 and the Pro-pack for $6200.00 with a spare battery thrown in. Already having the 2300 I figured I was not at that much of a disadvantage and could wait however long it takes for ML to fix the 7000.

From what I have read it seems ML know what the problem is that is causing the ground balance issues. Knowing and identifying the problem is the first step towards fixing it. The question then arises will a firmware update provide a fix with the current unit's hardware?