Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

near powerlines?

5 posters

Go down

near powerlines? Empty near powerlines?

Post  artrix Fri May 07, 2010 10:16 pm

Is there any way you can get a 4500 to be stable with a mono coil whilst near powerlines?
I was recently on some private land with a mate and we had powerlines on both sides of the area we were checking. I tried what was suggested in the manual but to no avail. I ended up having to put on my DD and running in cancel to get a stable threshhold I am new to the machine and I realize that my inexperience could be a big factor. Any advice?

artrix
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 442
Registration date : 2009-12-16

Back to top Go down

near powerlines? Empty Re: near powerlines?

Post  GoldstalkerGPX Fri May 07, 2010 11:39 pm

Hi Artrix, Nope wouldn't think so! The DD in cancel would be about the only option, or get the heck away from the power lines.
Shame really I have seen so much ground that I would love to cover and then see the dreaded lines or the markers indicating burried communications.

OFF TOPIC
When I'm not swinging a metal detector I'm usually swinging another detector looking (locating) underground assets, or using a locator tracking drill heads, when I'm not operating the drill.

Cheers
GoldstalkerGPX
GoldstalkerGPX
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 1732
Registration date : 2009-07-27

Back to top Go down

Post  artrix Sat May 08, 2010 6:50 am

Bugger the place we were was unknown to me prior to arrival and we ended up with powerlines straddling both sides of us 200 metres apart with the land we could be on dead in the centre. My friend had an older sd2100 and it didnt seem to bother his machine as much.

artrix
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Back to top Go down

Post  granite2 Sat May 08, 2010 12:23 pm