Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Im a newbie!

2 posters

Go down

Im a newbie! Empty Im a newbie!

Post  adztre Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:00 pm

I'm going to go and buy my first detector but only have a budget of $1000. Now i know Minelab is a very good brand but was wondering if whites Gmt detector, Garrets or any other brands at a similar price were any good. Or should i just not worry about it and get a Minelab X-Terra 705 gold pack. I'm guessing that the Minelab detectors are probably better suited to Australian soils but if you listen to every manufacturer they'll all say the same "our product is the best". So to all you gold hunting veterans out there, impart some of your knowledge upon me. I would be truly thankful.

adztre
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2011-07-08

Back to top Go down

Im a newbie! Empty Re: Im a newbie!

Post  kon61 Fri Jul 08, 2011 5:03 pm

G'day Adztre. Welcome to the Forum

What exactly do you intend prospecting for,eg coins,relics,gold nuggets etc,in parks,on beaches,or out in the gold fields?

Cheers kon61.
kon61
kon61
Management

Number of posts : 4993
Registration date : 2010-02-19

Back to top Go down

Post  adztre Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:27 am

searching for alluvial gold. also wondering if there are any maps or such to start me off in the right direction. i live in south australia.

adztre
New Poster
New Poster

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:08 am

G'day Adztre

Firstly a big welcome to the forum mate,

A detector to suit your'e budget would be the X-terra 705 gold pack, very easy to switch on and go,
also not to shabby on the gold, very well priced and comes with the 10x5 DD coil, you will need to get some
headphones and the minelab RPG's are fine for that detector.

As to where to go for a starter, grab yourself a copy of "Goldfields of sth australia" from Miners den s.a at