Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Few questions

2 posters

Go down

Few questions Empty Few questions

Post  alexander144 Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:31 pm

I am completely new to gold prospecting and became interested in the profession when acquiring my first piece of gold. Needless to say I want more as the the sub title of this forum suggests yet don't have the money to purchase it so I feel prospecting would be a great way to stay healthy and try and try to find gold at the same time. Now before I start I have a few questions which are:

1. I am under 18 and such will I only need my dad to buy a mining rights permit and I am legally allowed to prospect with him?
2. What tools will I need? I am 50% sure my granddad has a metal detector so hopefully I won't have to buy one but if i do which model would be good to start with?
3. What would be a good area to start with? I am located in Victoria, Beaumaris so a relatively close yet good area for gold prospecting would be nice yet I am willing to travel a little far.
4. How rare is platinum? I know next to nothing about this supposedly really rare substance but has many people been able to find some lately?

Thanks,
Alexander

alexander144
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2011-01-07

Back to top Go down

Few questions Empty Re: Few questions

Post  Guest Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:29 am

alexander144 wrote:I am completely new to gold prospecting and became interested in the profession when acquiring my first piece of gold. Needless to say I want more as the the sub title of this forum suggests yet don't have the money to purchase it so I feel prospecting would be a great way to stay healthy and try and try to find gold at the same time. Now before I start I have a few questions which are: