Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Coil Care Help

+2
GoldstalkerGPX
Frog
6 posters

Go down

Coil Care Help Empty Coil Care Help

Post  Frog Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:08 pm

I am only new at detecting but enjoy it heaps i would like to know the basic care i should take with my coil,should i remove the skid plate on a ragular basis
or leave it alone?
Should i seal the coil and skid plate with tape or not?
Thanks Lyndon

Frog
Good Contributor
Good Contributor

Number of posts : 87
Registration date : 2010-10-29

Back to top Go down

Coil Care Help Empty Re: Coil Care Help

Post  GoldstalkerGPX Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:54 pm

Last edited by GoldstalkerGPX on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:45 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : pointless)
GoldstalkerGPX
GoldstalkerGPX
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 1732
Registration date : 2009-07-27

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:43 pm

GoldstalkerGPX wrote:Lyndon it is a good idea to remove the skid plate and clean out between it and the coil, no matter how good you seal it up it will get dirt/dust in there which in turn will make ground balance hard with a build up inside.

I seal with tape my goldstalker coil only because it will not stay on, on it's own.
My other 2 commander coils I do not tape as they are a tight fit.
My nuggetfinder coil has tape on it, but I have not used the coil yet so don't know how that will go until I take it appart.

Cheers Pol
your tape will be tougher than the nugget finder skid plate!...damn shirt box plastic Mad

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:32 am

Use tape. It protects the edge of your coil and skipplate. Run a double layer around the coil.
Any dealer will have the correct tape for about $8.
Some skidplates are held on with silicone so be careful trying to pry them off.