Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sunny Corner State Forest - Winburndale Rivulet

2 posters

Go down

Sunny Corner State Forest - Winburndale Rivulet Empty Sunny Corner State Forest - Winburndale Rivulet

Post  Guest Sun Feb 04, 2024 1:03 pm

Went for a day on the Winburndale Rivulet at Sunny Corner State Forest yesterday. I'd like to get your perspective and opinion. I'll qualify all this with the fact I'm a complete newbie, so I'm probably doing something tragically wrong - so please be gentle. And yes, i've watched a billion YouTube videos (which will obvious from my newbie questions). Anyway... so this was visit number three - been there for the past three weekends. Not near the where Kirkconnell Creek joins Winburndale (along Macabees Rd) but about 1.5km further downstream. Each pan I'm getting about 1 or 2 specs. I'm following the standard tips - classifying (down to 8 mesh), targeting inside of bends of the creek where the gravels has dropped, digging around the downstream side of large rocks & boulders, digging out the gravels in the parallel channels in the bed rock, digging out the gravels at the base of downstream sloping bedrock, targeting the lowest depressions/pools in the creek, etc, and most of all, going to places less likely for the average weekend warrior (maybe that's me) would be able to get it - out in the wilds in serious 4x4 country. Anyway, I would have thought my hit rate would be a little better, either larger than literally a spec or more volume. Have I set my expectations way too high or is this part of the Winburndale just barren? I'm keen to get your thoughts, and suggestions for improvement - whether different locations I could try (doesn't have to be Sunny Corner - that's just convenient to Katoomba where I live) or maybe different tips I could try. Cheers.

Back to top Go down