Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spring detecting

+4
moredeep
G.B.
granite2
hapalogh
8 posters

Go down

Spring detecting Empty Spring detecting

Post  soldier of fortune Sun Sep 26, 2021 5:08 pm

It`s been awhile since i posted here. I am normally just an autumn and winter detectorist and panner ,but with the way things have been in the last couple of years , i haven`t been out much .
I am a solo operator and going bush in the warmer months brings the greater risk of encountering snakes . The grass is growing and getting thick around my area ( Ballarat ). Even the CFA burns from last year are getting overgrown. I don`t feel safe swinging a detector alone in these conditions of long grass and warm sunshine. Getting bitten when out in the scrub alone could be fatal. Even with gators on , it is still a risk.
Does anyone else share this sentiment or are you happy to have a swing alone ?

soldier of fortune
Good Contributor
Good Contributor

Number of posts : 110
Registration date : 2020-05-17

hapalogh likes this post

Back to top Go down

Spring detecting Empty Re: Spring detecting

Post  moredeep Sun Sep 26, 2021 9:57 pm

Hi soldier, yep have had similar concerns, I wear leather gators, thick jeans, and knee pads and I don't put my hands in area's that I can't see in.
I carry 2 full size compression bandages that can go from toe to upper thigh and always check if I have phone reception.
To be honest in all the years I have been detecting I've only come across 3 snakes and they took off quicker than me.
One occasion I just stood very very still and let the blighter pass me, it took a lot of will power not to go affraid and run like the wind.

cheers   moredeep
moredeep
moredeep
Management

Number of posts : 1869
Registration date : 2018-05-23

AnnieL and hapalogh like this post

Back to top Go down

Post  hapalogh Sun Sep 26, 2021 11:15 pm