Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello everyone

2 posters

Go down

Hello everyone Empty Hello everyone

Post  Mobileaction Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:10 pm

I am fairly new to prospecting and got interested after a trip last year to Mali on a gold hunt. There is plenty of gold there but its a challenge to find the right people to work with. Africans have their own ways and means! Anyway one of the senators I met has two mines that are undeveloped, about 70 sq miles each and he wanted me to get a few Minelab 5000's. I bought one and a 4000 and so I decided to lean everything I could in our own backyard. So to speak. I found a small 0.7gm nugget on a friends place near Mudgee on my first go. Happy about that. The girls were getting very bored until then! Two weekends ago I ventured to Upper Turon from Sofala but only got wire and nails!

Anyway I would appreciate any advice anyone can offer. I would love to tag along with people who know what they are doing! I am off to Perthville near Bathurst tomorrow to save a clients property (I work in finance) and I will try and get back out to Mudgee if I have time. I was using a DD the first time and have been advised to stick with mono and I now have two good picks with magnets to help tackle the rusty wire & nail insidious infiltrators to my fun!

Cheers

Rory

Mobileaction
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2013-10-31

Back to top Go down

Hello everyone Empty Re: Hello everyone

Post  getascripter Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm

Hey Rory ... nice ta meet you! Very Happy 

I think you got the right advice about sticking with the monos for your 5000 ... not that I own one myself, but there are quite a lot of Members here who are well versed in the 5000's! And lots of those guys will certainly help with questions etc.