Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Deep Xterra Beach signal

2 posters

Go down

Deep Xterra Beach signal Empty Deep Xterra Beach signal

Post  moonspud Sat Oct 05, 2013 6:12 pm

Hi All

I'm only a newbie to MD i've been combing the local beach for a few weeks. Today was my first real run with 15" coiltek 7.5 WOT palm on my 705. It's pretty good so far i think, i found cans 2 foot deep.
But i had a strange signal about half way down to the high tide mark. i swept over it and got 38-42 at full depth arrows, turned 90 degrees and pin pointed it. Dug down a foot and it was still there dug down another foot still there and depth was getting closer. dug some more by hand at this point waiting to find a can. still in there and the walls of the hole were getting to small to swing in without touching the sides and falsing. but i turned the coil vertical and check the sides nothing there. so i thought yep i'm hunting a ghost again like when the it seems the ground tracking doesn't like dry to wet sand for a few moments. so swept from ground level and it's still there. i backed the sensitity down from 25 to 20 still just there. i turned the ground balance up from beach 2 to beach 30 still there. prospect mode agreed. so the dug some more i ended up waist deep digging by hand around 4 foot before i gave up. i filled the hole over and gave up. i passed over that spot a few times over the rest of the day and still the same small target in the same spot.

Was it a target over four foot down??? It was too busy to excavate a big hole so i could swing down lower to pin point. I'll take the concentric down next time and see if it agrees

Any thoughts??

moonspud
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2013-10-05

Back to top Go down

Deep Xterra Beach signal Empty Re: Deep Xterra Beach signal

Post  big fella Sat Oct 05, 2013 7:24 pm

G'day