Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites

+4
evan2010
U308
Grandfather Johnson
Col Douglas
8 posters

Go down

Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites Empty Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites

Post  Col Douglas Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:14 pm

G'Day,

This is my first post on this forum. I'm fairly new to the game, but have had some limited success with about 50 or so tiny nuggets. I've also jagged one good nugget at Hall's Creek (1.8oz) last year. My wife and I are retired and we both have 4000s. We're off to WA, via Ophir and the Golden Triangle this winter. Our experience in WA is limited to a 10-day GPA Tour near Hall's Creek last year.

My question, which I've put on another forum, but got little response, regards what tools does one need to handle the hard stuff which one might encounter in WA. Jim Foster recommends a Estwing gad and hammer, and others agree. These devices don't seem to be available any more, but can someone recommend what minimum rock-breaking tools should be carried. I'm also wondering about the extent of this hard material in WA. I've been told that it is mainly concentrated south of Cue. Any useful comments would be appreciated.

Regards,

Col Douglas

Col Douglas
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 19
Registration date : 2009-10-25

Back to top Go down

Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites Empty Caprock

Post  Grandfather Johnson Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:53 pm

G'Day Col,

I have Been wondering the same thing,Is it legal in WA to use a generater with a small Kanga jack hammer or the like? Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites Icon_lol

Cheers Bruce

Grandfather Johnson
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 375
Registration date : 2009-06-10

Back to top Go down

Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites Empty Re: Handing Calcrete, Caprock and Laterites

Post  U308 Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:40 pm