Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510

4 posters

Go down

Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510 Empty Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510

Post  bicter Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:17 pm

Hi,
I'm a complete newbie at handheld GPS, previously using Google Earth.
I've now purchased a Magellan 510 and trying to get my GE kml to work on it.
Using Vantagepoint, provided by Magellan, I have managed to convert the file to a UPT type which is supposed to be suitable for this GPS. I then copy the file to the SD card in the GPS but can't view it or use it.
Can anyone either give me a point by point guide to use my GE points on the GPS or give me a clue as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks
TErry
bicter
bicter
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 395
Registration date : 2012-03-18

Back to top Go down

Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510 Empty Re: Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510

Post  just40 Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:40 pm

hey terry if you work it out can you sort out my magellan 610 i got for christmas, i have no idea...... Question

just40
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2012-02-15

Back to top Go down

Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510 Empty Re: Importing Google earth waypoints into Magellan 510

Post  bicter Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:37 am

Will do. I have a feeling that I have too many waypoints, I read somewhere on the web that the unit is limited to 2000 waypoints but I don;t know if that's correct. Will continue trying tonight..... now I'm off detecting Smile
bicter
bicter
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Back to top Go down

Post  Aussiedetecting Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:08 am