Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Coil Chatery

Go down

Coil Chatery Empty Coil Chatery

Post  Guest Mon May 21, 2012 9:05 pm

Hi All,
I have a couple coils which are little bit chatery.They do make a little signals every time they touch the grass or little branch on the ground.
I have to add that coil i am talking about are both spoke coils:
one is N/F 12 Inch mono and other is Goldstalker 14x9 mono.
I have never used the spoke coils before and i have a hard time to get use to them because of this little chatery noise.
I do keep my coils all the time on the ground so i am scraper Smile
I have Minelab4500 and would like to hear any suggestions if that is normal response or is there anything i can do to make it quiet.
I reduce the gains and stabilizer but result is quite same.Its just little too sensitive.
I have cleaned both plates.
Thanks,
GoldEN

Back to top Go down

Coil Chatery Empty Re:-coil-chatery

Post  Guest Mon May 21, 2012 10:11 pm

G'day Golden you hit the nail on the head it is that they are sensitive coils is the main reason they are a bit noisy, I had to send one of my 14"x9" Goldstalker coil back it was touch sensitive, I could not even touch a single blade of grass it would bang on it like a full on signal from a .22 bullet lead. Sad I told Andrew at coiltek in Maryborough about it he told me there was a faulty batch of them and he sent it back to the factory in SA they sent me a new one and I have had no problems with the new one. Very Happy

Cheers.

Mike. cheers

Back to top Go down

Coil Chatery Empty Re: Coil Chatery

Post  Guest Mon May 21, 2012 10:26 pm

Thanks Mike.
Mine dont have that overloading signal just that little ones when going over something-They are ok if i dont scrape the ground.
GoldEN

Back to top Go down

Coil Chatery Empty Re: Coil Chatery

Post  big fella Tue May 22, 2012 12:27 am

G'Day Golden