Starting Out re What do you need?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Starting Out re What do you need? Empty Starting Out re What do you need?

Post  Cams 4500 on Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:02 pm

Hi everyone, I am just getting into prospecting after spending a couple of days out at Maryborough with my father. I am in the process of purchasing a detector, I have come accross a used detector at Coiltek in MB, they have put a bit of a kit together at a good price for me. It contains
GPX 4500 A late model they tell me. What my dad has as well
Speaker, I hated using the headphones
Pick, medium size
plastic scoop
John Tully maps, seems a resonable way to start.
Cover for 4500

I also picked up an Aldi cleaner as they are in stock ATM, wishful thinking I know. Also got one for my Dad.

Should I get anything else to start with? I will be doing the Coiltek 1 day course soon.

Coiltek also suggested getting a mono coil, leaning towards the Coiltek 14X9 goldstalker, reasonable choice? or would something else suit me better?

Would be good to catch up with other members who detect around Maryborough. I plan to spend a fair bit of time out with my dad, but after a motor vehicle accident last year travelling home from MB, he hasn't been able to really use his 4500, hopefully soon he can. He himself is quite new to detecting.

regards
Cams
Cams 4500
Cams 4500
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 393
Registration date : 2012-02-04

Back to top Go down

Starting Out re What do you need? Empty Re: Starting Out re What do you need?

Post  davsgold on Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:14 pm

G'day Cams & welcome to the forum

I think you would be well advised to get the Minelab 11" Commander Mono coil, these coils are brilliant and you should get results with this coil fairly quickly, when coupled to the GPX4500.

cheers dave
davsgold
davsgold
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 6082
Registration date : 2008-10-25

https://www.x-coils.com/

Back to top Go down