Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

9" X 5" DD Coil

4 posters

Go down

9" X 5" DD Coil Empty 9" X 5" DD Coil

Post  Guest Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:13 am

I am planning to hit an area that has a lot of rubbish on it so I though of using a Coiltek 9" X 5" (250mm) DD Pro that I have on my 5000 using discriminate. My question is if I go over a bit of rubbish and there is a nugget directly under that rubbish will it discriminate that rubbish and the nugget, or just the rubbish, and still pick up the nugget directly underneath it.??????
wombat Wink

Back to top Go down

9" X 5" DD Coil Empty 9" X 5" DD Coil

Post  LONE WOLF XLIX Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 pm

Hi Wombat,

I am not experienced enough to comment on the subject but i will be watching it closely for replies as i may learn a bit. Personaly i dig every target who knows whats under neath the top bit????? more rubbish or a tiny flysh........t or a huge one ???. when you try your dd on this patch i will look for your post on how it went with the results cheers and the levels you set on your detector for diff results If you wish to post those??? Smile
LONE WOLF XLIX
LONE WOLF XLIX
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 223
Registration date : 2012-07-14

Back to top Go down

9" X 5" DD Coil Empty Re: 9" X 5" DD Coil

Post  CostasDee Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:24 pm

Hi Wombat,
I use the DDs on my SD because I just can't use the monos due to the noise. Because I use the DDs, I also use the discrimination feature. Many have told me that it will disciminate gold nuggets, but I have tested it on a 5oz piece and just couldn't get it to overload and discriminate it out, so as far as I am concerned, it "may" discriminate a piece of gold, but for that 1 piece that I miss, it will save me 100+ holes of trash that I don't have to dig.