Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

SD 2100 switches off by itself... battery problem?

4 posters

Go down

SD 2100 switches off by itself... battery problem? Empty SD 2100 switches off by itself... battery problem?

Post  Steinreich Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:13 am

Good morning,

I am very new to detecting, just started reading this forum a few months ago...

Then last week I decided to buy a SD 2100 from ebay. It came with two batteries, very small batteries with a switch on the box to change from 6.7 to 7.3v. On the box its written that Coiltek recommends 7.3v for SD series...

So when the detector arrived here one of the batteries was allready broken. The seller forgot to put it into the box with the detector and sent it in a seperate box. It looks like the postman threw it over our fence and it landed on the concrete... I found it lying in the rain when I came back from work. Just happy that he didnt do that with the detector... Rolling Eyes
So the other battery looks OK to me, I checked if its working and everything seemed to be good.

Then I went into the bush for the first time on Saturday, I have no car so I just walked into the forest from Ballarat train station. After I adjusted the detector and tried it with my own targets everything seemed to be fine.
Ten minutes later there was a very loud strange noise and then the detector just switched off. First I thought I found another hand of faith, but then I realized somthings wrong with the detector...

Tried to switch on the machine again after one minute and it worked fine again. I couldnt see the red light for low battery. But after two minutes or so it switched off again.
Packed up everything and just walked through the forest for the rest of the day...