Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

starting out with a GPX 4000

4 posters

Go down

starting out with a GPX 4000 Empty starting out with a GPX 4000

Post  Bol Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:24 pm

Gday fellas and felletes
After a few weeks of research,i have decided to go with the GPX 4000 as my first metal detector.Originally i was looking at the ex tera 705,but from the advice and recomendations from a few of the members of this website i should start with something with a bit more balls.
I will be targeting nuggets only so i might aswell go for a serious "Gold detector".I'm bidding on flea bay at the moment one one over in WA.
I'm no moron...but i aint Einstein either scratch
GPX 5000 new might scare the hell outa me as i'm just getting into it.
Am i shooting for the right detector to start off with ?
Or am i bighting of more than i can chew?
Cheers
Bol What a Face
Bol
Bol
Contributor
Contributor

Number of posts : 35
Registration date : 2012-09-07

Back to top Go down

starting out with a GPX 4000 Empty Re: starting out with a GPX 4000

Post  getascripter Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:06 pm

G'day bol ... you've made a good choice! I've recently done the same and I love my 4000. Easy to operate, and very quiet and stable.

I had a bit of a problem with a broken wire in the control box the other day and had to send it off to Minelab for repairs. Today I was speaking with one of the boys at Minelab and he says that the 4000's are a brilliant machine! Can't get a better recommendation than that!

It's now on it's way back to me ... great service!!
getascripter
getascripter
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 1900
Registration date : 2012-04-26

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:52 pm

mate if you have not detected before you are in for a hell of a big learning curve ( whichever detector you get ) but the 4000 is a very good machine.