Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice

3 posters

Go down

Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice Empty Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice

Post  parsec Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:41 am

Hi, I am fairly new to looking for gold and set myself a bit of a goal this week. The idea was to find 1 gram of flakes, I didn't get there but I did learn a bit and also tried a home made sluice to speed things up a bit.

A few google searches and a little time watching videos led me to the Bazooka Gold Trap sluice concept. Basically the sluice has no riffles, but uses a lower section (trap) to hold on to the heavies. Intrigued, I built up a basic prototype to see if the idea worked before spending the money on unknown technology.

Basically, material is washed over a classifier which allows heavies to drop into the trap, while larger material just moves off the end of the sluice. The heavies are then kept in suspension so that black sand, etc moves down, while blonde sand, etc exits the trap.

This is what I can up with, unfortunately I only had 19mm pine at home, so it is heavier than it needs to be and there is lots of wasted space, however it is good enough to test the concept.

Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice Proto_fluidtrap1
Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice Proto_fluidtrap2
Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice Proto_fluidtrap3

The original idea is at
http://www.bazookagoldtrap.com/

Here is a video of how the concept works, showing the larger items washing off and the feed rate

And this one shows me panning the concentrates from one bucket.

I am really impressed with this system and will buy the original version shortly. A fast feed rate, no classifying, easy/ quick clean up and portability make this a great solution for me.

I didn't get the gram, but did have fun Smile
Home made fluid bed gold trap sluice Weeks_gold

parsec
New Poster