Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000

+9
eureka4goldaz
gef50
Alan WA
Ismael
dryblower
tricky 1
Flakmagnet
artrix
goldsal
13 posters

Go down

Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000 Empty Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000

Post  goldsal Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:28 pm

Hi I'm really new at this - have invested in a GPX5000 with headphones and am presently watching JP's DVD Unwrapping the GPX5000. He wears dual externals and as my ears are already complaining, I'm tempted to do likewise. What brand is best (his has an on/off button) and what do you prefer?

goldsal
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2011-09-20

Back to top Go down

Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000 Empty Re: Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000

Post  artrix Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:34 pm

Go to jaycar and buy a small mobile phone in car speaker I think they are around $20 solder on a stereo plug a couple of dollars and there you go. You can fit a switch if you want. all depends on how confident you are with a soldering iron ..... its pretty easy tho

artrix
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 442
Registration date : 2009-12-16

Back to top Go down

Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000 Empty Re: Headphones v external speakers with GPX 5000

Post  Flakmagnet Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:04 pm

Hi,

I run a dual speaker set-up similar to JP's and use a B&Z booster that has an on/off switch
that is also a volume control and it also has a switch that toggles between the amplified sound
and the un-amplified sound.
I don't think the speaker brand names are the same in the US as in Australia so I won't include it.
I love the ser-up for many reasons.
It also makes a great teaching aid.

fwiw,

Flakmagnet
Flakmagnet
Contributor Plus
Contributor Plus

Number of posts : 399
Registration date : 2008-12-31