Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

6" Mono Coiltek or 8" Mono Minelab ??

+5
Narrawa
GoldstalkerGPX
Frog
kon61
Bushy69
9 posters

Go down

6" Mono Coiltek or 8" Mono Minelab ?? Empty 6" Mono Coiltek or 8" Mono Minelab ??

Post  Bushy69 Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:19 pm

Hi All,

I am on a spending spree to stock up on parts before I head off prospecting in a couple of months. Planning on Cue / Sandstone area in WA.

I am very new to prospecting.... so limited field experience, but lots of hours research so far.

I will be using a GP Extreme, and have the stock DD Coils that came with the machine (11" DD and 18" DD) as well as a 14x9 Coiltek Mono (thanks to forum member Eureka Dreams).

I am after one more small mono, as I am heading to some sites where I hope to pick up small sub grammers. I am in two minds whether to get the 8" Minelab Mono or the 6" Coiltek Mono. I believe there is also a small 10x5" NuggetFinder as well.

So far, there seems to be a lot of praise for the 8" Minelab Mono, but not so much info on the 6" Mono Coiltek?

Any of you experienced prospectors have opinions on the small mono coils (ie.. directly comparing the 6" to the 8").

My plan is to locate fist nugget with the 14x9... grid the area and work it with the 14x9, then redo with the smaller mono.

Many thanks in advance for any replies.

Bushy
Bushy69
Bushy69
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 17
Registration date : 2010-12-08

Back to top Go down

6" Mono Coiltek or 8" Mono Minelab ?? Empty Re: 6" Mono Coiltek or 8" Mono Minelab ??

Post  kon61 Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:03 pm

G'day Bushy.

The 6" coiltek mono will find tiny gold but the 8"inch commander will find the same tiny gold and sub gramers at slightly better depths.
The only advantage you'll get with the six inch is better pinpointing capability,on the tiny gold.