Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Research what how?

5 posters

Go down

Research what how? Empty Research what how?

Post  victoro 12th June 2018, 6:37 pm

I've been prospecting for about 4 years now (about 2 to 3 times a year) I've been to Cue, Mount Magnet, Sandstone, Yalgoo and Laverton. I've been lucky enough to find small bits between .10gr to 1.2gr pieces, I'm swinging a 2300 (which has been a great machine)
My question is I hear a lot about "do your research" what research is there other reading about older gold finds?
I have volume 1 & 2 of gold and ghosts and they both seem to be filled with great areas however I'm told this information is old and the areas in the books have been beaten to death. I'm serious about trying to learn how to better my odds and spent a bit of time with another prospector who taught me about the Ironstone and Quartz (and this information was very helpful) but where do I go from here?

victoro
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2018-05-22

Back to top Go down

Research what how? Empty Re: Research what how?

Post  Travelergold 13th June 2018, 8:58 am

The gold @ ghost books are great, but if you just go to direct sites in them they are flogged. These will put you in gold areas and then you need to look at ground and travel wider to find new patches. We also mark them on maps and then draw lines between them. East / west. But gold is found in some spots you would not expect. We are not geologists and have only started detecting from 2009 for a few mths of year to start of with and then more often. We were green as and just take in every thing you find and have good eyes to remember what ground condition are like when you find something. Very slight rises, northern side of slopes.
Others will be more helpful, just be legal where you are, that is learning curve till you get the hang of it.